About Houghton Lake

Houghton Lake is Michigan's largest inland lake. It is an extraordinary resource that provides fishing, boating, swimming, and other recreational opportunities

to thousands of people who use

and enjoy the lake. Houghton Lake

is an important part of the local


                                                                Download the Guidebook >

Recognizing the need to effectively

manage Houghton Lake, the Houghton Lake Improvement

Board was established in 2000 under provisions of Michigan's Natural Resources and Environmental Protection Act. In accordance with state law, the lake board is composed of a representative of each of the four townships that border the lake, a county commissioner, the county drain commissioner, and a

lakefront property owner. Several members of the Houghton Lake Improvement Board are lake residents. The Lake Board has made the coordinated management of Houghton Lake possible.

Houghton Lake Improvement Board Members

Jim Deamud, Chairman                    Jack McCauley
Denton Township                                           Riparian Member

hlibchairman@gmail.com                          jandrmccauley@hotmail.com
Norm Fullmer, Secretary/ Treasurer    Rex Wolfsen  
Markey Township                                    Roscommon County Drain Commissioner

hlibsecretary@gmail.com                          drains@roscommoncounty.net
Matt Peterson                               David Russo
Roscommon Township                             Roscommon County Board of Commissioners

matt@fishbonescustomlures.com                 houghtonlakesteamway@hotmail.com
OPEN                                         Chip McCullough   
Lake Township                                      Alternate: Drain Commissioner


Dick Pastula                                 Tim Muckenthaler

Alternate: Roscommon Township                Alternate: County Commissioner

pastula33@charter.net                              timmuckenthaler@roscommoncounty.net

Howard Hatherly                           Lynn Baese

Alternate: Markey Township                      Alternate: Denton Township

hhathe@msn.com                                    lynnbaese@yahoo.com


Alternate: Lake Township


Zoom meeting for May 26, 2020

Phone #1-929-205-6099

Meeting ID 842 7693 2015

Phone in password


2020 Meeting Schedule

Meetings begin at 7pm

January 28 - Denton Township

March 24 - Markey Township

May 26 - Denton Township

July 28 - Roscommon Township

September 22 - Lake Township

Annual Reports

Feasibility Studies







© 2016 HLIB PO Box 843 Houghton Lake, MI 48629